>Sleep is overrated but I’ll tell you what’s not…

>There is one topic which unites parents all over the world and divides them from their non-parent counterparts, who cannot fathom the obsession they have with the topic – sleep or lack thereof. After nine months of pregnancy and the perfect picture you paint in your head about life with a baby, it comes as a shock when your beautiful bundle of joy decides to sleep all day and keep you awake all night. Mix that with the hormones raging through your body and its a good job Mother Nature made our memories so bad thus prolonging the existence of human kind.

As any self surviving creature of this world I have learnt to adapt to my new Boy centered environment. Pre-Boy if we had a late night or slept badly on a school night, a luxurious long lie in until 12pm was a norm but now a luxurious long lie in is defined as post-7am. Occasionally a bad night might warrant a tag team nap but it has to be really bad now I am back at work as we like to maximise family time at the weekend.

The world is quite a backwards place really, enabling us to maximise sleep when all we have to take care of is ourselves and yet when little darlings come into our lives, not only is our time forever occupied, but sleep is a precious commodity that rises in elusiveness at the same rate as the price of oil. Why is life thrown into chaos, needing to make and feed three messy meals a day (when honestly, I can survive on one meal and a packet of biscuits), and running around the house protecting all your worldly assets from grubby mitts and dangers at every turn, whilst at the same time we have even less time to recuperate.

Looking back to my pre-Boy life, I should apologise to my mind and to my bed, both of whom would face my wrath if they didn’t switch off or be comfortable enough for me to sleep. Boy was I being greedy, I realise now that sleep actually is over-rated  and the most heavenly thing is just being able to lie down, listen to the sound of nothing and relax in my glorious bed, sleep is only a bonus.

3 Responses

  1. >Absolutely, the idea of having nothing to do is so completely foriegn, and I keep wondering what on earth was I doing with all my time pre-Super-Tot?! Surely I could have at least learnt another 3 languages, written a novel, or at least reorganised my wardrobe?! Fab blog btw x

  2. >Found you through Mich at Mummy from the Heart.So glad to have discovered and followed you!Love your blog!Trish@Show and Tellxx

  3. >Mama and more – I know what you mean, I can't even fathom what I did with my time before. What a waste!!Show and tell – thanks for your lovely comments, off to check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

