Day One

>Gina Ford instructions (simplified!)- sit them on the potty every 15 minutes for 5-10 minutes, if they regularly go then lengthen these gaps.

The Boy woke bright and far too early this morning at 6.30am. Usually if I have a day off and the Boy wakes at such an ungodly hour, I feel 7 is far more sociable, then the Man will get him up and keep him occupied until he’s ready to go to work but in all the potty training excitement I rushed downstairs to ensure the Man didn’t put a nappy on him!

We did have a slight moment where he said “I want a nappy” but thanks to the Man suggesting I sing the Potty Song (because the Boy loves singing) he was soon happy to sit down on it while I frantically searched my brains for some words to fit the occasion. The best I could come up with was

“you’re sitting on the potty
because you’re a big boy now
do your wees and poos on the potty
and we will all say wow”

So, first pant choice of the day – Toy Story. Here is our potty training chart, not a bad day I reckon. And to be fair to the Boy the two accidents were due to me not paying full attention to him at that moment in time. He spent a lot of the day sat on the potty drawing, reading, watching TV, singing, even dancing on the potty but the biggest achievement was his 4.10pm visit where he wasn’t sitting on the potty and he quickly went over to it – choosing to sit on the potty to do something is 2 stars, if I tell him to and he produces, that’s 1 star.

8 Responses

  1. >I love the chart! How cute. Good luck with it!

  2. >Great chart! Is he wearing pants or just bare bottomed? You are very realxed about this. Will enjoy reading your diary, I loved writing mine, even though I was more stressed. x

  3. >Thanks Mrs E – I made it myself, can you tell!?! :)MultipleMummy – we are in pants and t-shirt, want him to understand what its like to be wet. He was not impressed when he was. Also tried to emphasise trying to keep his lovely Toy Story / Thomas / Gruffalo pants dry.

  4. >Thats great. I might have to try the reward chart! x

  5. >Hello thanks for following me! I'm due on the 02/11 so very close to you. Also need to start toilet training my son but feeling a bit too sick at the minute. Will enjoy following your blog! I'm in Surrey too x

  6. >I'll be following this with interest! All my Mummy friends are potty training at the moment (Leo is 6 months younger than the rest of them but he's now becoming a bit more aware of his nappy as he's noticing what the others are doing. Really not looking forward to it all though!

  7. >my little boy is 2 and doing this at the moment, am going to have to make a chart now!hes on pants only today for the first time eek!wishing you luckAbi xxhttp://oftantrumsandtrends.blogspot.com

  8. >Hi Chocoorange and anyone else interested… i'm working on a new tv show about mums offering other mums advice and support – no experts! i'm looking for intelligent, fun, funny mums who are open to sharing their wisdom. Please contact me on kimya.moghaddam@studiolambert.com or call 0207 502 5669 for more info.

Leave a Reply

