A Ranty Piece – Part 1

I am quite a chilled out person but of course I do get riled up by certain things. In order to expunge these incidents from my mind I need to Rant (note the capital letter as they are an event). Ask the Man who has been the victim of many a Rant (and causer of lots too) but after 8 years together he now knows to sit back, pretend he is listening for the duration of the Rant – on average 5-10 minutes – and thereafter nod in agreement. Although my blog is generally positive I thought I would start a new element called A Ranty Piece and make it a regular slot to get off my chest those things that really do bug me. I hope you will not be offended by my Rants and would love comments, agreeing or disagreeing with my current bone. Here goes.

Rant One – people who don’t know how to queue

Queuing is an art form, I don’t know if it was created by the British but it has been perfected by the British and is an intrinsic part of our society. We understand that if you arrive before someone else you have earned the right to be ahead of them and it has nothing to do with the size or pointyness of your elbows. We accept that if we arrive late we just have to suffer the consequences and moan inwardly about the clever buggers who managed to be there in time to join the front of the queue.

I just don’t think the rest of the world gets it and whilst usually I can embrace the cultural differences that separate Brits from other nationalities, this is one area that leaves me frustrated and Ranty.  The turmoil of deciding whether to push forward with the crowd or to remain true to my queueing roots leaves me umming and aahing for so long I am left at the back despite arriving a good 10 minutes in advance to secure my spot. In googling “how to queue” I came across this very delightful guide by an Etiquette Advisor which was written as part of the Immigration Test for new citizens in the UK  (I’ll leave you to judge the necessity of this). Perhaps we should post a guide in the airports too for all international arrivals,  right by the passport queue which seems to take forever!

3 Responses

  1. Oooh I am a ranty queuer!

    It drives me potty when someone pushes in but I tend to say nothing!

    why is that?

  2. Because we’re British – we like to queue and we’re far too polite!

  3. I’m with you on this. Summer and travelling on the underground is the most testing time on the queue front for me…!

Leave a Reply

