The Baby Show

So I finally made it to a Baby Show on Friday, despite having tickets for shows for the last two years thanks to the Boy and his various chest infections (a long story), we missed out. In hindsight maybe fate was telling me to hold on until I was actually pregnant (I am, did I tell you already?) so I could justifiably spend money on cute things.

It was a mammoth journey from leafy Surrey via two trains, one tube, various escalators and a 3 mile hike from the train station to the exhibition hall at the NEC in Birmingham. I met my hired hand for the day at the station (my sister) and off we went to explore the delights on offer.My main goal for the day was to check out the Stokke Xplory, the pram I wanted to get for the Boy but didn’t as it is very expensive and now every time I see a cute little baby sitting up high having a nice chat with Mummy or Daddy in one I am overcome with envy and regret. So as soon as I found out I was pregnant I told Hubby that this was what I was going to get and the sensible streak in him knows when not to argue with a hormonal pregnant woman.

The Boy was my wonderful guinea pig for the Xplory and really loved it and although it is a mammoth item which will dominate our small dining room and boot space, I think most pram systems do this and so overall it’s worth it.

The Boy had a lovely time in the Fisher Price crèche – usually I don’t put him in crèches as on my day off I like to make the most of my time with him but he wanted to go in and I wanted to shop so it was a win win situation.

There was a Twitter / Facebook meet up in the afternoon and it was really nice to put faces to names of @petitmew, @mummymatters, @cafebebe, @mammamcann, @theBabyShow and to meet a new Tweeter @geekmummy.

I was very pleased with myself for being sensible but still coming away with some great buys so here is a quick rundown of what I got:

All in all spending a grand total of £241 (oops, it sounds like a lot when you count it all up!)

2 Responses

  1. It was great to meet you too – where’s the Xplory on your list of fab buys? x

  2. I decided to wait a little longer as not due till November – or try to beg Stokke to give me one to review!!

Leave a Reply

