Dear So and So….

Dear Boy

I love you, I really do, more than anything in the World, you make me so happy to be your Mum.

But I must admit that I really would appreciate if you could stay in bed and be quiet (you don’t even have to sleep) between the hours of 11pm and 7am. A 9/10pm wake up is not ideal as you are probably interrupting catch up Casualty or Glee but its a good excuse for a sleepy cuddle so I won’t complain about those.  After I have gone to bed and finally exhausted myself into a deep sleep, no matter how much I love you, I honestly would prefer to wait until morning to see you again.

I don’t understand why the door open at 45 degrees does not constitute “door open a little bit” and needs to be adjusted a millimetre or two at 3am. I don’t believe you put enough effort into finding your “Toy Story water” in your bed at 4am when I have no trouble scrabbling in the dark for it. I wish your memory would be a bit better and recall that I killed all the monsters with monster spray when I put you to bed so there is no way they are still lurking in the shadows.

Its not a lot to ask is it sweetheart? I got up with you in the night for 7 months to feed you (a valid reason to wake) and since then every time you have been unwell I have jumped out of bed to calm your tears or soothe your aches because it hurts me to see you in pain. However, I hope you will agree that monsters / water bottle / door open just don’t seem like good enough reasons to deprive me of sleep. I am currently making a little brother or sister for you (you honestly will appreciate it one day) and I accept that there will be more sleepless nights when it arrives but until then please can you help me out a bit?

I love you with all my heart

Mummy
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Dear So and So...

2 Responses

  1. I had 2+ years of waking before my son finally settled with just waking too early in the morning 5 something rather than 6 something. Mostly 6 something now thankfully at 4. Hope you get there much quicker.

    • I hope so too but I have learnt not to assume too much! When he is a lazy teenager I will have my commupance 🙂

Leave a Reply

