Listography – Decisions

I haven’t done a Listography for a while but I couldn’t resist this one. I really believe in this Sliding Doors concept and sometimes wish I had a crystal ball to see what might have happened if I took the other path. Luckily I am very happy with my life so no regrets about anything but I can’t help but wonder sometimes, what if.

From Kate – This week Listography is inspired by the amazing Christine Mosler at Thinly Spread. If you have been living under a rock with an eye patch on each eye and bananas in your ears you may not have heard about the Save the Children ‘No Child Born To Die’ campaign. If this is the case please click this link immediately to sign the petition before coming back here to read on.

So here are mine:

Going to Bradford University

When I was younger, I wanted to be a childrens TV presenter or a newsreader, I always was a show off! I got a place on a Broadcast Journalism course at Falmouth College but when I went to visit I wasn’t convinced that it was the right place for me and I was a bit concerned that the course would be fun to do but not lead anywhere. So I decided to see what else was out there and eventually decided on the Business and Management, course for people who don’t know what they want to do with their life, at Bradford. And it was fab – new friends, drinking, boys, drinking, currys, drinking, you get the idea. But most importantly it set the path for my whole life today, I met my husband there and got myself onto a Banks graduate programme which has led me to my current career. If it weren’t for Bradford University who knows where I would be – CBeebies I guess!

Having the Boy

He was not a planned baby so when we found out I was pregnant we were shocked. We had only been married 9 months but we have a nice, if a bit small, house and good jobs each, so although we were in a good position to have children we just hadn’t considered it happening yet. I think, of all the decisions the Man and have made in our life together, this one was was the quickest and the quietest – it was a look, a holy hell what’s happened here look, what are we going to do and then a nod in agreement – it took all of about 5 seconds. Hands down, best decision EVER!

Charting my fertility

I am a control freak and if I am going to do something I like to get it done and I research things a lot. So when the Man and I agreed to have Baby number 2 I went to find out how to get pregnant – honestly there are ways and means! Charting is monitoring various aspects of your body to predict when you will ovulate so you can time SWI (sex with intent for those non-Mumsnetters!) Lets face it, we’ve been married 4 years and have a toddler who wakes in the night occasionally, every day was just not going to happen! I loved charting, partly because it made me feel a bit more in control of the process but mainly because I learnt some fascinating new things about how our bodies work. For example, did you know that after ovulation your body temperature goes up by 0.1-0.3 degrees and then drops back down when you get your period. I am in awe of how clever our bodies are and feel enlightened for having learnt it. Oh and it helped me get pregnant so was also successful.

Joining a Tennis Club

I am useless at exercise, it bores me, but I have always enjoyed sports. Since the Boy was born I haven’t been able to play much as it would require a babysitter and we don’t have many local friends so last Summer I took the plunge and turned up to the local tennis club and asked to join. It was a bit scary but I am really pleased I did it, I am not very good  (although improving thanks to my 21 year old cute instructor) but I can see myself getting better which gives me Wimbledon hopes yet. The pregnancy is going to stop me playing at some point but I hope it will only be a 6 month break or so.

Writing this post

If I hadn’t, you might not be reading and I will have missed out on your lovely comments below! 😉

12 Responses

  1. City Banker / CBeebies …your life could have taken such a different route! You could have been singing the ‘Summertime’ song with the little Welsh fella and the tall guy!! x

    • You see, what if!! How life could’ve been. But then again my singing voice isn’t up to much

  2. well the amount of times I’ve had SWI I never knew it was called that!! I just sent an email to my OH at work saying ‘the stick says its time’ !!
    I definitely believe in the ‘sliding’ doors concept too. I spent a few months down in Falmouth in 1994 when I got made redundant……which in turn (I believe) led me to meeting my husband!
    x

    • Glad to have improved your knowledge of conceiving!! 😉

      Falmouth ended up being important in my life anyway as we got married there! It is a small world

  3. Great list! I often think of the sliding door concept and wonder where I would be now if my life had taken a different route and I hadn’t of met my hubby. I strongly believe we were meant to meet.

    • I believe that Hubby intruded on my intended life with David Beckham but we can’t have everything 😉

  4. Yay you made it! My Mum did that charting method after having 3 kids in quick succession to ensure that she DIDN’T get pregnant. You can guess who came along in the middle of it can’t you…?!
    Great list – I love learning how people end up where they are in life. Thanks!

    • Thanks for creating it – I can usually waffle about anything but its coming up with good ideas for blog posts I find hard.

  5. Ah I def think you should have gone the CBeebies route. Think of the kudos at the school gate… from the kids, of course… 😉

    • Not sure I would be at the school gate if I had, do those people ever grow up!! I would be an eternal kid 🙂

  6. Hi ChocOrange, where do you live now? I was born and bred in Bradford and only moved away two years ago. We’re only 20 odd miles away now, but it’s hugely different from city life, in a very nice way. Great listography.

    • We live in Surrey now and not been back to Bradford since I graduated, I always mean to but not had any reason yet. What I wouldn’t do for a Bradford curry though!!

Leave a Reply

