20 week scan

The Man and I went to the hospital on Monday morning for my 20 week scan (I was actually 21+3 but we had missed it at 20 weeks as we were on holiday), we were both fairly relaxed as I had been feeling Poppy kick for a couple of weeks so we knew it was definitely there but of course there was a little worry that everything wouldn’t be perfect. The sonographer said the usual “I will scan you first and take a look and then let you see” during which time your heart beats like a drum and you think you’ve imagined every movement, but luckily this only lasted for about 10 seconds and we quickly saw our babys heart beating like a drum on the screen. It was awesome.

Apparently it has arms, legs, hands, feet, a heart with 4 chambers with blood going in and out, a head with a brain, no cleft lip, kidneys and thanks to a close up of its face we even know it has a tongue! Poppy is alive and well and as far as they can tell to date, perfectly formed. I decided I want a surprise version so we didn’t find out the sex, the Man wanted to find out but readily agreed to my decision when I glared at him with evil pregnancy hormoned eyes. I cannot wait to find out, but for now I am enjoying guessing using the old wives tales.

It was a lovely time for us and we came away with big grin and excitement at what the future holds.ย So here Poppy is (its the head and chest in case you can’t figure it out!)

 

Poppy at 21+3
12 Responses

  1. Beautiful! I am so excited for you. xx

    • thanks Emma – I only just got this as it landed in my spam.

  2. Oh wow , it’s so exciting isn’t it. We’re over half way now! Take care of you and your little one x

    • I can’t believe how quickly time is flying by – it’ll be nappies and sleep deprivation very soon! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Awww, glad everything seems ok. You’re very disciplined to wait for the surprise ๐Ÿ˜€ Congratulations, poppy does indeed look perfect xX

    • Thanks – I was very tempted to say yes but decided it would be worth the wait.

  4. What a lovely pic xx

    • Thanks, its much better than the alien one from last time!

  5. 20 weeks already? How did that happen?

    I’m so glad that everything is progressing well and very impressed you didn’t find out which flavour it is, I’m a control freak so have always had to know

    • Time flies when you’re having fun!!

      I am a control freak too but my love of surprises overruled it.

  6. That’s fantastic and love the fact you are keeping the sex of the baby a surprise ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad all went well.
    The pic just brings so many memories back, what an exciting time!

    • Thanks, I was very pleased too – I still have a big grin on my face! I can’t believe its happening really but I am so excited

Leave a Reply

