Supporting small businesses

I started blogging in January as I was feeling very uncertain about my life, specifically my career and I thought it would be a good way to find ideas to start my own business. Since finding out I am pregnant I have decided to put this on hold but maybe I’ll think about a new business idea in the future. 

Another reason I haven’t done anything more is the fear of failure and the financial implications. I have been amazed at how many people out there have been brave enough to start up businesses in search of the right work/life balance. It is a brave step to take as it is tough to succeed in today’s highly competitive environment. For every product you search online there are hundreds of results but only the ones with the big marketing budgets can afford to be top in the search engine rankings and this, coupled with “trusted names” makes us buy at the obvious places leaving small businesses struggling to compete.

I asked myself why I do this, for convenience, for price, but in reality I couldn’t come up with a very good answer. Habit is the only thing I can think of, I have a few companies which I really like and so when I buy something I usually just go to their site.

I have realised that blogging and social media is an extremely effective marketing tool, I pay more attention to people’s blogs and recommendations than I do of generic advertising. This is also why companies are keen to have bloggers review their products to spread the word. I like reviewing relevant products but I don’t always have the time and I can understand that for small businesses sending out products to review can be expensive.

Someone asked me the other day if I accepted adverts on my blog. The answer was no, I do not want adverts on my blog as I personally don’t like clutter on the page. I do have a link to the lovely Baby Friendly Boltholes as they are my CyberMummy sponsor and I am proud to be associated with them but apart from that I wanted to keep my blog ad free.

This got me thinking though, people actually read my blog (thank you to you all) and therefore I could use advertising in a positive and non intrusive way to help and support small businesses out there that might need some exposure.

So from 1st August I will have one advertisement per month, in prime position, for a small business which fits with my blog profile. The advert will be free and I do not expect anything in return.

How to apply

  • To be eligible you must be a small business who does not have widespread advertising elsewhere.
  • If selected, you must write a short supporting piece about you, your business, why you chose to start your own business and what you can offer your customers which will feature on my blog.
  • Family run businesses and those based locally to me in the South West will be given priority.
  • Adverts will appear for one calendar month.
  • E-mail applications to chocorangecitymum@yahoo.co.uk

One last thing, my creative brain has frozen and I need a name for this idea. Please e-mail me at chocorangecitymum@yahoo.co.uk if you have one!

13 Responses

  1. What a great idea, I love it……..especially if I get chosen! Unfortunately I’m not in the South West but I am a small business that is struggling to get noticed anywhere other than on Ebay. I will email you right away
    x

    • Its not a requirement to be in the South West, but as I am based here I will try and give priority to businesses based locally but they won’t all be as I am sure my readers are national.

  2. Lovely idea, would love to be apart of your monthly advertising but didn’t know if you would see me as a conflict with babyfriendly bolt holes? we are different as they are a directory and us just a family holiday buiness for families with young children

    • I am not going to rule anyone out, its about promoting as many small businesses as possible and anyone that needs an extra boost!

  3. Great idea!

    I’d love to be considered 🙂

  4. […] Supporting small businesses […]

  5. Would you like – or anyone on here for that matter like a reduced ‘New Business start up ‘ ticket to www,businessmumsunite.co.uk ? I have about 10 of these I can allocate – they are £25 normally £65 amd include full entry to the day and lunch and a goody bag – great netowrking opportunities and learning from the workshops – seems to be in keeping with the discussions here 🙂

    • Thanks Charlotte, I don’t have a business so its not for me but I have tweeted and passed it onto my readers.

  6. Great thanks – this offer is for anyone with a business idea who has not started thier business yet!

  7. I love this post. It’s so important to support small businesses among the blogging community. I’m going to tweet this! My blog is about being a WAHM and trying to give out any tips I learn along the way. I’m a big fan of sharing info. and supporting others on the same journey. x

  8. What a fab idea. I will send you an email.

    Lisa

  9. […] toddler items run by mum of three, Helen. I have chosen Helen to be  the next beneficiary of my Supporting Small Businesses campaign as we have spoken on twitter on numerous occasions and apart from the fact she seems […]

  10. […] a happier work life balance for all the family. As such I am pleased to support Claire in my Thinking Big Supporting Small campaign and I hope you will have a look at her […]

Leave a Reply

