The Gallery – Birth

I feel like this post is a momentous one, my first ever Gallery entry. I have been meaning to partake in it for a while but just haven’t got around to it however this week was one I couldn’t pass up. I recently wrote my Birth Story on my blog and that, along with being pregnant, has meant that birth is at the forefront of my mind at the moment.

I know lots have people have interpreted this theme very differently but I am going bog standard because to me when I think Birth there is one thing that springs to mind before anything else, and that is my beautiful Boy.

I don’t need to rehash my Birth Story but suffice to say that delivering the Boy in a crowded theatre with anaesthetists, paediatricians and midwives (and yes they are all plural) was not what I had in mind. This photo is the first ever photo of the Boys life and even though you can’t see him, he is in it, just behind the paediatricians who are checking him over (his heart rate dropped a bit towards the end but he was a perfect 10 on the Apgar test). This photo to me represents all my thoughts about the Boys birth, the fact that it wasn’t at home as planned and was in a very medicalised environment was not at all what I had chosen but none of that matters because when I look at this photo I feel success and joy and happiness and relief. I am very very grateful to the wonderful NHS staff who made this an unexpected but amazing experience.

So there it is, my first ever Gallery entry, please let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading

10 Responses

  1. AWwww. Lovely, but I hope you get your home birth this time round. xx

    • me too! but if the end result is the same then I won’t really care

  2. It’s a busy scene! Everyone working together to deliver a healthy baby is the perfect scenario. xxx

    • And they did – it was so not what I had in mind but in the end it didn’t matter, each and every person in the room made it happen, not just me!

  3. Amazing that you got this shot. I couldn’t have told you who was in the room when I gave birth LOL Hopefully you’ll get your home birth!

    • Oh I certainly didn’t – it was hubby! 🙂

  4. Perfect gallery entry, one photo, one excellent post to go with it.
    I have just posted my birth story on Maternity Matters, started as a home birth ended as a C-section.
    Home Births Rock – I hope you get what suits you best.
    See you next week? Gallery? X

    • Thanks Gemma! I read your birth story (think I commented too) its a really good one. I hope to do more gallerys so maybe see you next week 🙂

  5. I didn’t have the sort of birth exerience I wanted either – but when it comes down to it all that matters is having healthy, happy babies. Nothing ever goes according to plan when you have children – I suppose it’s better to learn that right form the start.

    • I agree, anyone who is going to give birth should learn to go with the flow. Birth plans are good for getting your thoughts in order but be prepared for anything!

Leave a Reply

