School of Parenting

The Boy is two years and nine months now and steadily becoming more and more independent which makes me proud, petrified and tired. He’s never really been one for temper tantrums but he is a stubborn one and knows his own mind. Overall though he is a very good child and I think the Man and I have had it fairly easy (cue payback with impending number 2): he never really touched anything he shouldn’t, never got into kitchen cupboards, never climbed the stairs when our backs were turned, never runs off, doesn’t hit or bite.

He is a very chilled, very good boy and although I would like to take all of the credit I know that much of his personality is down to nature (which I will still take credit for) and I think he was always going to be this way.

I do like to think that we nurture his easy going nature and although I would love to call myself a perfect parent: I am not patient enough, I am incapable of coping with little sleep and I make mistakes. But in the interests of keeping a record of these fun but challenging times, here are the things I have learnt in our School of Parenting:

  • Anticipation: anticipate things that will upset them and tell them in advance that something is going to happen. The Boy never wants to go upstairs for a bath and go to bed, if we try to take him without any warning frustration and tears ensue. Some notice, however short (finish your drawing, 2 minutes etc) makes things much smoother.
  • Countdown: my favourite technique for bad behaviour is one my mum used to do. Count to three. I could cruise along doing whatever was driving her potty through numbers one and two but if I didn’t stop and she made it to three, I was in for it. The Boy has been taught this one too.
  • Patience: children are slower than us and you need to give them time to learn things and process them in their time, not the time you want them to do something. For example, when they try to fit an obviously edge shaped piece in the middle of a jigsaw puzzle, do not take said piece, sigh and slot it in the right place, but instead help them see their glaring mistake.
  • Distraction: can save the day. If the Boy is doing something I don’t like but its not really bad behaviour, I threaten fun punishments like: “I’ll eat you” or “I’m going to tickle you if you don’t stop” and usually once we’ve finished eating off his arms and legs or tickling him into submission, he’s forgotten what he was doing which was driving me crazy.
  • Options: if I can, when the Boy has to do something he’s not going to like I give him a choice when I can. “Do you want to get dressed now or in 5 minutes”, “tomatoes or cucumber”

I really enjoy learning what works and what doesn’t so although I’m sure things will get more challenging as he gets older, I look forward to seeing what the Boy can throw at us and how we learn to cope.

Let me know if you have any other lessons to teach me – its us against them right!

3 Responses

  1. This looks like a whole web page, this blog! However did you do that!! I struggle with trying to put a good page together. It’s a bit frustrating to me. But good work! 🙂

  2. I love your little bits of wisdom! I’m pregnant with our first…due in Feb…so I have lots to learn!

    • Glad you like them and I hope they help!

Leave a Reply

