The Brushing Song

The reason I started this blog was to have somewhere to record memories of when the Boy is young. Despite best endeavours memories are so fragile that they fall out of your head before you realise it.

Teeth brushing has never really been a battle in our house but it is hard getting the Boy to do it for more than 10 seconds before he announces “I’m finished”. We make up lots of silly songs at home and so I thought a Brushing Song might work, and it does! He will happily brush away for a couple of minutes as long as I am singing this song although the downside is, he won’t brush his teeth unless I am singing this song!

So here it is, feel free to steal it for your own monsters if you like being a bit silly.

The Brushing Song

To the tune of Rappers Delight by The Sugarhill Gang

I said a brush brush, a brush brush brush, 

a brush brush brush and you don’t stop 

brushing to the top and the bottom and the front and the back 

and the left and the right and side.

Now what you hear is not a test, we’re brushing to the beat

you, me and my friends are gonna try to brush your teeth.

You see you are wonder Boy and I’d like to say hello

keep brushing at the top, brushing at the bottom, brushing at the yo yo

you brush and you don’t stop to the rhythm that makes your brush pop.

Now so far you’ve heard my voice but I’ve bought some friends along

Next on the mike is my man Boy, come on Boy brush those teeth.

And that’s about all we need before he’s all brushed out and I have made a big enough fool of myself as he insists on me singing it regardless of who is visiting!

Do you do anything to encourage brushing, just in case this stops working?

2 Responses

  1. I think we need a video of that!

  2. Don’t think I can do that and protect my anonymity.

    What a shame 😉

Leave a Reply

